MLB All-Star Game tiebreaker shifts to 3-v-3 HR Derby format

Tuesday night’s All-Star Game in Los Angeles will be decided by a brief home run derby if the score is tied after nine innings.

Three players will represent each league. Each batter will get three swings and the team with the most homers will be declared the winner.

National League manager Brian Snitker selected Pete Alonso of the New York Mets, Ronald Acuna Jr. of the Atlanta Braves and Kyle Schwarber of the Philadelphia Phillies.

American League skipper Dusty Baker chose Julio Rodriguez and Ty France of the Seattle Mariners and Kyle Tucker of the Houston Astros.

All player picks are tentative and can be changed on game day.

The All-Star Game has gone into extra innings 13 times, including 2017 and 2018.

As the visiting team at Dodger Stadium, the AL would send a batter to the plate first. Players from each league will alternate after that. The head-to-head format will continue until the tie is broken.

Juan Soto of the Washington Nationals won Monday night’s Home Run Derby, beating the rookie Rodriguez 19-18 in the final.

–Field Level Media

Follow us on Google news for more updates and News

Full Disclaimer



Get the most important news and analyses for Free.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.