New trophies honor Larry Bird, Magic Johnson, others

As part of the league’s 75th anniversary celebration, the NBA unveiled new and redesigned trophies and awards on Thursday honoring some legendary players.

The standout players from this year’s conference finals will take home the first Larry Bird Eastern Conference Finals MVP award and the first Earvin “Magic” Johnson Western Conference Finals MVP award.

The updated Eastern Conference championship trophy is now named after Bob Cousy and the Western Conference championship trophy is now named after Oscar Robertson.

The Larry O’Brien NBA Championship Trophy and Bill Russell Finals MVP Award trophy also got makeovers, with the former adding a base that includes the etched names of all previous champions and the latter now finished in gold vermeil.

“Our minds were on what the trophy should look like and how heavy they should be,” said Christopher Arena, the NBA’s head of on-court and brand partnerships, who spearheaded the project. “We wanted to explore and start a new 75 years and bring some aesthetic consistency to that and have some meaning behind all the trophies we had.”

Artist Victor Solomon collaborated with Tiffany on the designs for the six trophies.

–Field Level Media

Follow us on Google news for more updates and News

Full Disclaimer



Get the most important news and analyses for Free.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.