Visitors vaccinated with WHO or FDA approved vaccines can enter U.S.

Late Friday, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) said that the United States will accept vaccines that have been approved by the World Health Organization (WHO) or the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) which is the US regulator. Travelers who are fully vaccinated will be allowed to enter the nation.

The six vaccines that are approved by the FDA or WHO for emergency use are the following:

Janssen/Johnson & Johnson

The decision has been welcomed by Airlines for America, a trade group that represents major American airlines such as American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, United Airlines and others. They have been looking forward to international travel restrictions from the beginning of the pandemic.

The vaccines approved by the FDA have not been used widely around the world. So, several countries requested the Biden administration to include vaccines that have been approved by the WHO. The newly approved lists has gone far to assuage the governments of many countries who had opened their borders to U.S. visitors, several months ago.

The CDC said that they had informed airlines about the vaccines that would be approved for international visitors to the nation. It also said that it would provide them with “additional guidance and information” when the travel requirements get finalized.

The CDC had sent contact tracing rules that would be implemented for international travelers to the White House on September 15. After they are reviewed, the final set of rules will be published by the CDC. Almost all flyers, including those who did not have prior restrictions, will have to follow the new guidelines.

The CDC will also have to provide guidelines for those who are exempted from getting vaccinated including children. Different countries around the world have different vaccine guidelines for children.

Other guidelines could include the status of those who are a part of ongoing clinical trials of vaccines as well as those who have recently been infected with COVID-19 and are currently ineligible to take a vaccine.

The Biden administration had said that visitors could travel to the U.S. in November. Visitors from the following countries will be allowed

Schengen countries in the European Union
Great Britain
South Africa


Follow us on Google news for more updates and News

Full Disclaimer



Get the most important news and analyses for Free.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.