U.S Presidents Who Didn’t Attend the Inauguration of Their Successors



President Donald Trump has said that he will not be a part of the inauguration ceremony on January 20, when President-elect Joe Biden will take his oath of office. Vice president-elect Kamala Harris will also be sworn in and Vice President Mike Pence has indicated that he will be present at the ceremony.


A small group of former U.S. presidents have also missed the inauguration ceremonies of their successors after they didn’t get reelected.


  1. John Adams didn’t attend the inauguration of longtime rival Thomas Jefferson.
  2. John Quincy Adams, son of John Adams, who fought a bitter campaign against Andrew Jackson and lost didn’t attend the ceremony.
  3. Martin Van Buren missed the inauguration of William Henry Harrison. The reasons for his non- attendance are not clear though Martin Van Buren perhaps didn’t attend the swearing in of his successor as his son might have been ill at that time according to information from the University of Illinois.
  4. Andrew Johnson didn’t attend the swearing in of Union War hero Ulysses S. Grant. He was also the first president to face impeachment and was acquitted by the Senate with a narrow margin of one vote.



Grover Cleveland however has the distinction of attending two inaugurations of his immediate successors. This was because he nonconsecutively, won the presidential elections twice.


Follow us on Google news for more updates and News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

CWEB.com is not registered as an investment adviser with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Rather, CWEB.com relies upon the “publisher’s exclusion” from the definition of investment adviser as provided under Section 202(a)(11) of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 and corresponding state securities laws.

Full Disclaimer